2023 Lawrence Symposium on Epitaxy

Invited speakers

Plenary speaker

Ramamoorthy Ramesh

Symposium Keynote Speaker

“Ultra-Low-Voltage, Beyond CMOS Microelectronics”

Ramamoorthy Ramesh is a Professor of materials science and engineering at the University of California Berkeley. His work has made significant impact towards the synthesis, assembly and understanding of complex functional oxides, such as ferroelectric materials.

In particular, he has worked on the development of ferroelectric perovskites, manganites with colossal magnetoresistance, and also on multiferroic oxides with potential benefits for modern information technologies.

His work has seen him receive a number for international and domestic awards including MRS David Turnbull Award, Elected Foreign Member of the Royal Society, FMD John Bardeen Award of TMS, Elected member, United States National Academy of Engineering, James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials, APS Fellow, MRS Fellow.

Scientific program invited speakers

Sefaattin Tongay
Arizona State University, Opening remarks day 1

Robert Nemanich
Arizona State University, TBD

Joshua A. Robinson
Pennsylvania State University, Novel Atomically Thin Metals, Semiconductors, and Insulators formed via Confinement Heteroepitaxy

Xiao Kai
Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Understanding the van der Waals epitaxial growth of 2D materials and heterostructures

Hui Cai
UC Merced, Tailoring the Properties of 2D Materials from Controlled Synthesis

Bin Chen
Northwestern University, Tuning the interface of perovskite semiconductors

David Smith
Arizona State University, Opening remarks day 2

Peter Crozier
Arizona State University, TEM for Vibrational spectroscopy

Sandhya Susarla
Arizona State University

David Smith
Arizona State University